The word Chakra translate from Sanskrit into English as Wheel or Disk. There are 114 Chakras, however we are more familiar with and focus on ensuring balance and alignment in the physical, mental and spiritual body through these 7 main chakras:

  • Root Chakra: Muladhara
  • Sacral Chakra: Svadhisthana
  • Solar Plexus: Manipura
  • Heart Chakra: Anahata
  • Throat Chakra:Vishuddha
  • Third eye: Ajna
  • Crown Chakra: Sahaswara

These 7 main Chakras align themselves along the spine, starting at the base of the spine to the crown of the head.  The common description of chakras is swirling vortex of energy  spinning on the spine and working with Shushumna Nadi travelling up and down the spine via prana taken  and expelled out through the other two main nadis – Ida (feminine – white – moon -left channel nadi) and Pingali ( masculine – red – sun right channel nadi).  

Cogs and wheels

Each of the 7 main Chakras corresponds with the Human Endocrine system and main nerve centres on the body. It essential that our Chakras remain open, if there is a blockage or they are not able to spin at the correct speed, or indeed spin too fast then energy cannot flow correctly and as it is meant to for optimum health.  Picture a clock mechanism  each wheel cog moving and connecting together to ensure that the clock maintains the correct time.  If there is a jar with one of the cogs, this will have a knock-on effect with the other cogs, and soon the clock will stop. So to with us, if one chakra is not spinning correctly it too will have a knock on effect with all of the other chakras.  However once we are aware of our Chakras and their importance to our overall health and wellbeing we can start working with them to ensure they remain open, aligned and balanced.

Physical and Spiritual


The first 3 Chakras, located towards the base of the spine are connected with our physical being:

First Chakra: The Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.

Second Chakra: The Svadhisthana chakra is our creativity and sexual center. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and is responsible for our creative expression.

Third Chakra: The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem and it’s the area from the navel to the breastbone. The third chakra is our source of personal power.

Heart is the Connection

Fourth Chakra: Anahata at the middle of the seven chakras and unites the lower chakras of physical and the upper chakras of spirit. Anahata is also spiritual but it serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. As one might assume, the heart chakra is our source of love and connection.


Fifth Chakra: The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. The fifth chakra includes the neck, thyroid, and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue.

Sixth Chakra: The Ajna chakra is located in between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. Ajna is our center of intuition. We all have a sense of intuition but we may not listen to it or heed its warnings. Focus on opening the sixth chakra will help you hone this ability.

Seventh Chakra: The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the crown of the head. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. It is located at the crown of the head.

Turn on and Tune in

When we start to become aware of our chakras and “tune in” to them we are able to listen to our bodies more astutely and become aware when one of our chakras is out of alignment.

For example, frequent constipation can indicate a blockage in the first chakra. A recurring sore throat leaves clues to a blocked fifth chakra. Frequent headaches around the area of the forehead may mean your sixth chakra is blocked.

When we work through our physical chakras, or the first three, we can open the spiritual chakras more fully.

In our next set of 7 blogs, we will take a closer look at each Chakra, how it works with us and for us and how through understanding them better can work toward optimum health, balance, and enlightenment.

*reference and thanks to